h1

Like Nike said…just do it.

June 2, 2009

To think too long about doing a thing often becomes its undoing. ~ Eva Young

ducksinarow

I came across a thought-provoking post today on Freelance Switch entitled “Just Get Going”.  To be quite frank, I sat up in my chair faster than my closest girlfriend takes to decide that a $300 pair of heels from Aldo is a perfectly rational purchase.  I became suddenly and uncomfortably aware that  I had fallen prey to the mind-boggling form of procrastination Martha calls “I must get all my ducks in a row before I start promoting my business”.  Bummer.  Why did it take such a kick in the butt for me to recognize the  unnecessary limitations I’ve been putting on my potential success?

Actually, I guess it wasn’t that big of a surprise.  This has always been one of my biggest pitfalls.  For whatever reason, I imagine that it’s possible to be absolutely prepared before making a decision or taking action.  I’ll spend more time than needed on a particular project because I’m confident that some level of quality perfection can be attained.  It’s kind of like a syndrome, now that I think of it.  And it really does prevent me from making progress or jumping on opportunities that I might otherwise have snagged.

I was startled by how little marketing I’ve been doing lately when that’s really where my focus should be since I’m just starting my writing career.  I mean…no matter how many tweaks I make to my business website, it’ll never be perfect enough for my tastes.  Despite how much I research and read up on the business of freelancing, experience will always be my best teacher.  And that fear of letting go of a writing project until I’ve revised it a bazillion times is only sucking up the time I could be using to build my business and scope out additional assignments or clients.  That’s what I should be doing.

I think I’ll take Martha’s advice and just get going – or as the Nike proverb puts it –  just do it!  Who cares if my ducks aren’t all in a row?  They probably never will be.  Time to get off the procrastinator bench and be a doer.  I’ve got to market fiercely and concentrate on sniffing my way to new assignments and clients rather than dwelling in the slush pile.  I recommend you other creative perfectionists to do the same.  Eventually your rise to action will pay off.

And remember…reward yourself.  You deserve it.

5 comments

  1. I hope you are right, because, I’m starting my first business -actually publishing a roleplaying game- and I’m being very open from the beginning, even as I draft the first manuscript. If waiting for having all the ducks in a row, it’s the way to go, then I’m in trouble.,


  2. Kudos to you Miguel! It takes a lot of courage to take those kind of risks. I wish you the best of luck with your game development.


  3. There’s nothing wrong with not having all the answers; it’s more important that you’re asking the right questions. Keep doing that and you’ll be fine.


  4. What an inspiring post! I’ve been procrastinating big time on a couple of projects I have planned. The funny thing is I have no idea why I have not moved full steam ahead yet. I’m giving myself a deadline to get moving. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.


  5. Thanks for your responses! And I definitely agree Kimberly – nothing ventured, nothing gained. I find that giving myself a deadline always helps a lot, especially if I write it down.



Leave a Reply

